jump to navigation

My Blueberry Nights Monday, April 14, 2008

Posted by Ágata in Citações, Vale a pena.
trackback

J: I’ve had customers leaving keys here for years. Sometimes they pick them up in a few days, sometimes it takes a few weeks

E: Well, what about most of the time?

J: Most of the time, the keys stay in the jar

E: Well why do you keep them? You should just throw them out

J: No. No I couldn’t do that

E: Why not?

J: If I threw these keys away, then those doors will be closed forever. And that shouldn’t be up to me to decide, should it?

***

J: Those belonged to a young couple a few years ago. They were naive enough to believe that they were gonna spend the rest of their lives together

E: Well, what happened?

J: Life happened. Things happened. Yeah, time happened. It’s pretty much always the case more or less

***

K: You still have the keys?

J: Yeah… I always remember what you said about never throwing them away, about never closing those doors forever. I remember.

K: Sometimes, even if you have the keys those doors still can’t be opened. Can they?

J: Even if the door is open, the person you’re looking for may not be there, Katya.

***

L: Have you learned nothing from your time with me? You have to stop taking people at their word!

E: Maybe you should start

***

E: “In the last few days, I’ve been learning how to not trust people, and I’m glad I failed. Sometimes we depend on other people as a mirror, to define us and tell us who we are. And each reflection makes me like myself a little more”

***

E: Goodbye doesn’t always mean the end, sometimes it means a new beginning

***

E: It took me nearly a year to get here. It wasn’t so hard to cross that street afterall… It all depends on who’s waiting for you on the other side

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

